Hot Breaking News for Filipinos

Find out the only 3 regions ready for Duterte’s shift to federalism

0 2,518

Only three of 11 regions are ready to stand as a self-sustaining state in President Rodrigo Duterte’s vision of a federalized Philippines.

Lawyer Christian Monsod said only Metro Manila, Central Luzon and Southern Luzon have the revenues to operate autonomously as a federal state.

The rest of the regions do not have the financial capability to run their own government without massive national subsidies as envisioned under Duterte’s federal state.

In an interview with DZMM, Monsod, one of the framers of the 1987 Constitution, said Duterte would need at least 10 years transition for the other regions to catch up and be ready to be a federal state. He said there was no guarantee that all of the regions would be ready in a decade during which all incumbents would stay in a hold-over capacity with no elections.