Monday, December 11, 2017

Laglagan na! LP senators join minority after losing committee chairmanships

Feb 27, 2017 @ 16:59

Senate Minority Leader Ralph Recto has just been elected as the new Senate President Pro Tempore in a surprise reshuffle that saw Liberal Party senators lose their committee chairmanships.

At the onset of the plenary session Monday (February 27), Senator Manny Pacquiao made a motion to declare the post of Senate President Pro Tempore then held by Senator Franklin Drilon vacant.

After Pacquiao’s motion was seconded by senators, Recto was elected as the new Senate President Pro Tempore.

Drilon did not object to the takeover of his post.

After Recto became the new Senate President Pro Tempore, Pacquiao made successive motions to declare as vacant the chairmanships of the following committees: Health, Agriculture and Education, which were then held by LP senators.

The chairmanship of the Committee on Health went to Senator Joseph Victor Ejercito from Senator Risa Hontiveros, while the Agriculture Committee previously headed by LP president Senator Francis Pangilinan is now chaired by Senator Cynthia Villar.

The chairmanship of the Education Committee has been transferred from Senator Bam Aquino to Senator Francis Escudero.

After the reshuffle was over, Drilon and other LP senators declared they will be joining the minority bloc.

Pangilinan, however, said he would seek a dialogue first with other members of the minority bloc on who their new leader should be.

Prior to LP’s entry into the minority bloc, the group was composed of Recto, Escudero and Senator Antonio Trillanes IV.

Politiko would love to hear your views on this...
Recommended Articles
The comments posted on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.


Trending News

Politiko Poll


Copyright © 2017 Politiko -

Want Politiko alerts on your inbox? Subscribe here.