Friday, November 24, 2017

Makabayan bolts House majority coalition, forms new independent bloc

Sep 14, 2017 @ 16:14

Ending weeks of speculation, seven Makabayan lawmakers finally declared their separation from the majority coalition of the House of Representatives on Thursday.

“Today, we, seven party list representatives of the Makabayan Bloc, declare our separation from the Majority Coalition in the House of Representatives to intensify our opposition to the Duterte administration that has now fully unraveled as a fascist, pro-imperialist and anti-people regime,” said the group.

The bloc consists of Bayan Muna, Gabriela, ACT TEACHERS, Anakpawis and Kabataan.

“Now that Pres. Duterte and his allies are embarking on efforts to undermine the very institutions that serve as a check on his Executive powers, now that he is pushing for an insidious revision of the Constitution, now that he has revived his threat to declare martial law nationwide and impose a revolutionary government, we resolve to intensify efforts to defeat the emergence of a new dictatorship,” the congressmen said.

Makabayan said they form an independent bloc in Congress and will not join either the minority bloc or the Magnificent Seven group.

Facebook Comments
Recommended Articles
The comments posted on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.


Trending News

Politiko Poll


Copyright © 2017 Politiko -

Want Politiko alerts on your inbox? Subscribe here.