Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Not once, but twice! Trump’s new travel ban blocked

Mar 17, 2017 @ 9:19

US President Donald Trump’s new executive order to temporarily bar the entry of citizens from six countries was supposed to take effect on Thursday, but what ended up getting barred were parts of the revised travel ban.

A Hawaii judge issued a temporary restraining order on the travel ban’s provision, including the one that would have temporarily banned said citizens from getting visas for 90 days.

“A reasonable, objective observer – enlightened by the specific historical context, contemporaneous public statements, and specific sequence of events leading to its issuance – would conclude that the Executive Order was issued with a purpose to disfavor a particular religion, in spite of its stated, religiously-neutral purpose,” U.S. News, in an article published online on March 16, quoted US District Judge Derrick Watson of Hawaii as saying in the ruling.

This was followed by a preliminary injunction granted by a Maryland judge.

The six predominantly Muslim countries covered by the travel ban are Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. Iraq is no longer included in the new temporary ban.

Federal judges suspended the first travel ban.

Politiko would love to hear your views on this...
Recommended Articles
The comments posted on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of POLITICS.com.ph. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.


Trending News

Politiko Poll


Copyright © 2017 Politiko - politics.com.ph.

Want Politiko alerts on your inbox? Subscribe here.