Saturday, November 18, 2017

Ronnie Zamora leaves Villar for Duterte: NP stalwart adds muscle to PDP-Laban

May 24, 2016 @ 20:19

The number of politikos making a beeline for the hottest political party in town, the Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) just keeps growing by the day.

On Tuesday (May 24), more than a dozen lawmakers led by House Minority Floor Leader Ronaldo Zamora took their oath as members of President-elect Rodrigo Duterte’s political party at the Marco Polo Hotel in Pasig City, based on a text message by PDP-Laban Vice Chair Alfonso Cusi.‎

Zamora, the district representative of San Juan City, used to be a stalwart of the Nacionalista Party.

Joining him in swearing an oath to allegiance to incoming President Rodrigo Duterte’s political party are the following Representatives: Peter Unabia; Jesus Celeste; Mylene Garcia-Albanao; Wilter Palma II; Ruby Sahali; Jorge Almonte; Horacio Suansing; Mayo Almario; Maximo Rodriguez Jr.; and Senator Manny Pacquiao’s brother, Rogelio Pacquiao.‎

Also part of the latest batch of defectors to PDP-Laban are: Pangasinan Rep. Amado Espino, and Lanao del Norte Rep. Khalid Dimaporo, who used to be with the Liberal Party.

These politikos agreed to support Duterte and elect Davao del Norte Rep. Bebot Alvarez as their Speaker in the next Congress.

PDP-Laban’s currently lean membership of only 3 politikos in the House of Representatives is expected to grow bigger in the coming days as more turncoats jump ship to the party so they can enjoy the benefits of being Duterte’s allies.

Facebook Comments
Recommended Articles
The comments posted on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.


Trending News

Politiko Poll


Copyright © 2017 Politiko -

Want Politiko alerts on your inbox? Subscribe here.