The bible of Philippine politics

3-way race for Chief Justice as Peralta, Perlas-Bernabe, Andres Reyes accept nominations


Among the Supreme Court (SC) magistrates, Justices Diosdado Peralta. Estela Perlas-Bernabe and Andres Reyes Jr. have accepted their automatic nomination for the seat of chief justice.

The two justices accepted the nominations as the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) closes this Tuesday (August 20) the acceptance of the applications for the post which will be vacated upon the October 18 retirement of Chief Justice Lucas Bersamin.

The SC customarily nominates its five most senior magistrates for the chief justice post which include Peralta and Bernabe.

On the other hand, SC Justices Antonio Carpio and Marvic Leonen, the two other senior justices, have turned down their automatic nomination.

“I am declining because there are only 8 days left from the vacancy to my compulsory retirement,” explained Carpio who will retire on October 26.

On the other hand, Leonen no longer explained why he declined his nomination.

“There is no requirement to state our reasons for declining the nomination. For now, in my considered judgement, my decision is the right thing to do for myself, this Court and this country. I will be able to do what I do best for our people in my current position at this time,” Leonen.

“As always, I am committed to giving my support to whoever is constitutionally appointed as the next Chief Justice,” he assured.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy