Posted on

By Prince Golez

Only overseas Filipino workers (OFWs) and permanent resident are allowed to travel to Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan, according to Cabinet Secretary Karlo Nograles.

“Yung ating ban doon sa Hong Kong, Macau and Taipei is a temporary partial ban. Ibig sabihin niyan OFWs can go there hindi pwede pumunta dun yung mga nagbabakasyon. So, OFWs lang at permanent residents lang ang makakapunta sa Hong Kong, Macau at Taipei,” Nograles said in an interview with ANC.

To lift the deployment ban of Filipino workers to China, the Palace official said there should be a “considerable” reduction in the number of coronavirus (Covid-19) cases there.

“77,000 pa rin ang positive sa Covid-19 doon. I don’t know at what point tayo magsasabi ng lifting ng temporary deployment ban ng OFWs. Konti lang naman ang ating OFWs sa mainland China, so safety first,” he added.

On January 31, President Rodrigo Duterte ordered a ban on travelers from China and its territories in a bid to contain the spread of coronavirus.

Last week, the government partially lifted the travel ban on Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan to allow Filipino migrant workers to return to their jobs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *