The bible of Philippine politics

‘Di lang politiko! Locsin: SC justices affected by US ban on De Lima’s jailers

0 2,625

Justices of the Supreme Court will also be affected by the law signed by United States President Donald Trump, which includes a provision banning the entry of Philippine officials involved in Senator Leila De Lima’s detention, Foreign Affairs Secretary Teodoro “Teddyboy” Locsin Jr. said.

Related story:Abogado ka ba talaga? De Lima urges ‘naive’ Teddyboy Locsin: Review criminal procedure

Locsin on Monday (December 23) reacted to a tweet by GMA News about Trump’s signing of the 2020 national budget, which contained the provision banning De Lima’s jailers.

“I guess that includes the Supreme Court which again denied her petition to dismiss the charges,” he tweeted.

In a subsequent tweet, Locsin said the provision in the US Fiscal Year 2020 State and Foreign Operations Appropriations Bill wasn’t a ban “but the reaffirmation of a general authority to exclude aliens.

“But for grounds yet to be proved specifying those who refuse to drop charges against de Lima. That’s our highly educated Supreme Court. So it actually relaxes entry which can be whimsically denied,” he said.

The controversial provision in the US national budget allows US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo to “apply sub-section (c) to foreign government officials about whom the Secretary has credible information have been involved in the wrongful imprisonment of… Senator Leila De Lima who was arrested in the Philippines in 2017.”

Related story:‘Di na makaka-biyahe sa US! Trump OKs ban on De Lima’s jailers

Sub-section (c) refers to the Global Magnitsy Human Rights Accountability Act, a US law which allows the American government to ban suspected human rights violators from entering the US, as well as freeze their assets.

US Democrat Senators Dick Durbin and Patrick Leahy were behind the inclusion of the provision on banning De Lima’s jailers in the US government’s spending package.

De Lima previously named the following as responsible behind her detention for drug-related charges: President Rodrigo Duterte, presidential spokesperson Salvador Panelo, former Presidential Communications Operations Office official Mocha Uson, Sass Rogando Sasot, and RJ Nieto, former House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez, former Justice secretary Vitaliano Aguirre II, Solicitor General Jose Calida, Public Attorneys Office chief Persida Acosta, Sandra Cam, Dante Jimenez, Representatives Rey Umali and Rudy Fariñas.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy