The bible of Philippine politics

Edgardo Delos Santos takes oath as new SC justice

0 69

Newly appointed Justice Edgardo Delos Santos took his oath as the newest member of the Supreme Court (SC) before Chief Justice Diosdado Peralta on Friday (Dec. 6).

Last December 3, Malacanang appointed Delos Santos along with fellow Court of Appeals (CA) Justice Mario Lopez to the SC.

Lopez already took his oath of office before Peralta on Thursday (Dec. 5).

Delos Santos and Lopez filled the seats that were vacated by retired Justices Antonio Carpio and Francis Jardeleza, respectively.

With the new appointments, Peralta has re-arranged the compositions of the three divisions of the SC.

Lopez was named as a member of the First Division which is chaired by Peralta and composed of working chairperson Justice Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa and members Jose Reyes Jr. And Amy Lazaro-Javier.

On the other hand, Delos Santos was named as a member of both the Second and Third Divisions.

The Second Division is chaired by Justice Estela Perlas-Bernabe and has as members Justices Andres Reyes Jr., Ramon Paul Hernando, and Henri Jean Paul Inting.

While, the Third Division is chaired by Justice Marvic Leonen and composed of Justices Alexander Gesmundo, Rosmari Carandanf, and Rodil Zalameda.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy