Posted on

Most parts of the Philippines will be under relaxed quarantine until the end of August, except for Metro Manila and four other provinces with stricter lockdowns, Malacañang said Saturday (August 15).

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said President Rodrigo Duterte said the status quo will remain for most parts of the country despite the continued rise in COVID-19 cases.

Roque, however, said Metro Manila and neighboring provinces Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal will remain under the stricter modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) until August 18.

Duterte is expected to announce the lockdown restrictions for Metro Manila and the provinces under MECQ on August 17.

The following areas will remain under general community quarantine until Aug. 31:


Nueva Ecija




Iloilo City

Cebu City

Lapu-Lapu City

Mandaue City

Talisay City

Minglanilla, Cebu

Consolacion, Cebu

“The rest of the Philippines will remain under modified general community quarantine, Roque said.

In a televised briefing, Roque said local politikos can enforce targeted lockdowns in areas where COVID-19 cases continue to rise.

“Even areas under GCQ and MGCQ magkakaroon pa rin po tayo ng localized ECQ, so wala po talagang katapusan ang ECQ dahil ang ECQ ngayon localized o granular,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *