Hot Breaking News for Filipinos

Nabahag ang buntot? LP senators stay with majority bloc despite De Lima’s ouster as panel chair


Four senators belonging to the Liberal Party (LP) have decided to stay with the Liberal Party despite the sudden ouster of their party mate, Senator Leila de Lima, as chairperson of the Senate committee on justice and human rights.

In a statement, Senate Pro-Tempore Franklin Drilon, Senator Francis Pangilinan, Senator Bam Aquino, and Senator Risa Hontiveros acknowledged De Lima’s removal as committee chair is a political reality.

“Having said that, our alliance with the majority has always been based on the reforms that we believe will propel our nation to greater economic, political and social heights. We will continue to pursue these agenda,” they said.

“As long as we believe that these reforms can be achieved, we will remain with the majority,” the senators added.

In a 16-4 vote with two abstentions, the Senate approved the motion to declare all positions in the committee vacant during the plenary session Monday (Sept. 19). The move effectively ousted De Lima as panel chair.

Senator Richard Gordon was chosen as the new head of the Senate justice committee.

De Lima has yet to say whether she will remain with the majority or join the minority bloc following her ouster.