The bible of Philippine politics

Napag-initan? Ping discloses 24 solons lost ‘pork’ in 2018’s GAA


If the P3.77-trillion budget for 2018 is indeed without the so-called pork barrel fund, why were 24 lawmakers critical of the administration stripped of their “pork” for next year?

Sen. Panfilo Lacson raised the question Wednesday in the wake of a newspaper report that the 24 lost infrastructure funding for their districts or party-list constituencies.

“As we were made to believe this is a ‘porkless budget’, we see this —HEADLINES
‘Undesirable’ 24: Dissenting solons lose pet projects,” he said.

He referred to a Philippine Daily Inquirer report that some P11 billion in funds had initially been earmarked for hard infrastructure projects in the original general appropriations bill.

But the items were realigned during negotiations between the Senate and House of Representatives contingents.

The affected lawmakers included several members of the Liberal Party and the so-called Magnificent Seven and the Makabayan blocs.

The “Magnificent Seven” includes Edcel Lagman, Teddy Baguilat Jr., Gary Alejano, Edgar Erice, Tomas Villarin, Raul Daza, and Emmanuel Billones.

Other LP members deprived of funding reportedly include Kaka Bag-ao, Jose Christopher Belmonte, Jorge Banal, Vicente Alcala and Francis Gerald Abaya.

Meanwhile, the Makabayan lawmakers include Carlos Zarate, Emmi de Jesus, Arlene Brosas Antonio Tinio and France Castro; Ariel Casilao and Sarah Elago.

Other lawmakers who supposedly suffered budget cuts included Ilocos Norte Rep. Imelda Marcos and Davao del Norte Rep. Antonio Floirendo; Milagrosa Tan, Aurora Cerilles and Maria Valentina Plaza.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy