The bible of Philippine politics

Nothing wrong with speaking out: La Salle blasts sedition raps vs. Chel Diokno, Armin Luistro


Officials of De La Salle Philippines has come to the defense of abogado Chel Diokno and former Education Secretary Armin Luistro after they were charged with inciting to sedition over the video series involving the supposed whistleblower “Bikoy.”

In a statement Friday (August 2), La Salle officials denounced the filing of charges against Diokno and Luistro based on the affidavit of ex-convict Peter Joemel Advincula, who claimed he was “Bikoy” in the “Ang Totoong Narco List” video series.

The officials described Diokno and Luistro as “both Lasallians who are at the forefront of the advocacy to uphold human life, dignity and liberty.”

“Fighting for these ideals does not equate to sedition nor inciting to sedition. They are merely exercising their freedom enshrined in our Constitution which guarantees “the freedom of speech, of expression, of the press and the right of the people peaceably to assemble and petition the government for redress of grievances,” the La Salle officials said.

They urged the Philippine National Police not to allow itself to be used for political ends. It also called on the government to “end the filing of charges against its perceived critics and instead perform its duty to protect the democratic space for dissent, grievances, and critical perspectives.”

The La Salle officials likewise urged “all freedom loving Filipinos to continue to voice out their views in support of human rights and democratic principles.”

The statement was signed by the following:

La Salle Philippines chief executive officer Edgar Chua

La Salle Green Hills president Br. Victor Franco FSC

St. Jaime Hilario School – De La Salle Bataan president Br. Iñigo Riola SC

De La Salle University president Br. Raymundo Suplido FSC

De La Salle College of St. Benilde president Br. Dennis Magbanua FSC

De La Salle Lipa president Br. Dante Amisola FSC

De La Salle Dasmariñas and De La Salle Medical and Health and Sciences Institute president Br. Augustine Boquer FSC

University of St. La Salle and St. Joseph School – La Salle president Br. Joaquin Martinez FSC

De La Salle Andres Soriano Memorial College officer-in-charge Evelyn Cimafranca

De La Salle Santiago Zobel president Br. Bernard Oca FSC

La Salle Academy president Br. Antonio Servando FSC

La Salle University president Br. Jaime Dalumpines FSC

De La Salle John Bosco College president Dr. Aristarco Ugmad

De La Salle Araneta University president Dr. Bjorn Santos

La Salle College Antipolo president Dr. Jimelo Tipay

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy