Hot Breaking News for Filipinos

OG: Find out the remaining members of the fabled first Senate

0 4,798

They were the originals.

Thirty-one years ago, 22 men and two ladies were elected as the first batch of senators under the 1987 Constitution.

This was the first time the country voted for senators since 1971 the year before Ferdinand Marcos turned into a dictator, abolished Congress, and formed Batasang Pambansa.

Under the transitory provision of new charter, the first 12 senators with the highest votes would have a six-year term while the next 12 senators would have a three-year term.

The late Senator Edong Angara was among the originals and his recent death is just a reminder of how fleeting life and power can be.

Here is a complete list of the originals who have passed away:

1) Edgardo Angara (83 years old, 13 May 2018)

2) Leticia Ramos- Shahani (87, 20 March 2017)

3) Ernesto Maceda (81, 20 June 2016)

4) Jovito Salonga (95 March 10, 2016)

5) Ernesto Herrera (73, 29 October 2015)

6) Butz Aquino (76 August 17, 2015)

7) Vicente Paterno (89, 21 November 2014)

8) Sotero Laurel (90, 16 September 2009)

9) Neptali Gonzales (78, 16 September 2001)

10) Raul Manglapus (80, 25 July 1999)

11) Mamintal Tamano (65, 18 May 1994)

12) Santanina Rasul (87, 30 June 1995)

Only half of the first 24 who guided the country’s first baby steps to democracy survive to this day.
Only two are still active in politics to this day – Manila Mayor Joseph Estrada and Toledo City Mayor John Henry Osmena – while one is an executive in the Duterte administration: Development Bank of the Philippines Chair Alberto Romulo.

Juan Ponce Enrile and Aquilino Pimentel Jr. have come out of retirement to help President Rodrigo Duterte achieve his federal vision while Rene Saguisag and Orly Mercado have gone back to their roots – lawyering and broadcasting, respectively. Joey Lina runs Manila Hotel.

The rest have retired from politics Teofisto Guingona Jr., Heherson Alvarez, Wigberto Tanada and Victor Ziga.