Hot Breaking News for Filipinos

Nacionalista Party


2015 Party List Members

Abbreviation: NP

Year Founded: 1907

Ideology: Filipino nationalism

International: none


The Nacionalista Party (NPSpanish/FilipinoPartido Nacionalista, “Nationalist Party”) is the oldest political party in the Philippinestoday and was responsible for leading the country throughout the majority of the 20th century since its founding in 1907.

The Nacionalista Party was the ruling party from 1935–1944 (under President Manuel Quezon), 1944–1946 (under President Sergio Osmeña), 1953–1957 (under President Ramon Magsaysay), 1957–1961 (Under President Carlos P. Garcia), and 1965–1972 (under President Ferdinand Marcos)

The Nacionalista Party (NP; Spanish/Filipino: Partido Nacionalista, “Nationalist Party”) is the oldest political party in the Philippines today and was responsible for leading the country throughout the majority of the 20th century since its founding in 1907.

The Nacionalista Party was the ruling party from 1935–1944 (under President Manuel Quezon), 1944–1946 (under President Sergio Osmeña), 1953–1957 (under President Ramon Magsaysay), 1957–1961 (Under President Carlos P. Garcia), and 1965–1972 (under President Ferdinand Marcos).


The Nacionalista Party, historically, belonged to the conservative wing of Philippine politics, while its main opponent, the Liberal Party and its junior coalition partners all belong to the liberal wing. In practice, the differences between both parties are obscure as changing of party allegiance by individual politicians (as is the case in Italy and pre-reform Thailand),[2] especially prior to major elections, has become a norm in Philippine politics.


The party began as the country’s vehicle for independence, through the building of a modern nation-state, and through the advocacy of efficient self-rule, dominating the Philippine Assembly (1907–1916), the Philippine Legislature (1916–1935) and the pre-war years of the Commonwealth of the Philippines (1935–1941). During the Japanese Occupation political parties were replaced by the KALIBAPI. By the second half of the century the party was one of the main political contenders for leadership in the country, in competition with the Liberals and the Progressives, during the decades between the devastation of World War II and the violent suppression of partisan politics of the Marcos dictatorship. In 1978, in a throwback to the Japanese Occupation, political parties were asked to merge into the Kilusang Bagong Lipunan, although the Nacionalistas preferred to go into hibernation. Eventually, the party was revived during the late 1980s and early 1990s by the Laurel family, which has dominated the Party since the 1950s. It is now being reborn by party president Sen. Manuel Villar. Two of the other present parties, the Liberal Party and the Nationalist People’s Coalition are breakaways from the Nacionalista Party.