The bible of Philippine politics

Retirement rites set for Tijam


POLITIKO - The bible of Philippine Politics

Supreme Court (SC) Chief Justice Lucas Bersamin is set to lead a retirement ceremony this Friday (Jan. 4) for Justice Noel Tijam.

The SC set the ceremony in honor of Tijam who will compulsorily retire this Saturday (Jan. 5).

Following his retirement, President Rodrigo Duterte is expected to pick from 10 candidates in the shortlist submitted by the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) regarding as to who will fill the vacancy.

Those in the shortlist who received top votes from the JBC are Court of Appeals (CA) Justices Manuel Mejorada, Japar Dimaampao, and Amy Lazaro-Javier, who all received six votes each.

Those who got five votes each are Sandiganbayan Presiding Justice Amparo Cabotaje-Tang, and CA Justices Ramon Cruz, Ramon Garcia, and Mario Lopez.

The others in the shortlist are Court Administrator Jose Midas Marquez, CA Justice Apolinario Bruselas Jr., and lawyer Cesar Villanueva, each receiving four votes.

Tijam, who was appointed to the high court on March 8, 2017, was the second appointee of Duterte at the SC.

The magistrate is also a fellow law graduate of Duterte at the San Beda College.

Prior his appointment, Tijam has been a magistrate of the Court of Appeals (CA).

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy