The bible of Philippine politics

SC recommends 9 for vacant seat


Among the 20 vying for a seat vacated by Chief Justice Lucas Bersamin, the Supreme Court (SC) has recommended nine candidates.

The SC en banc held a voting on Tuesday (Feb. 12) as who among the candidates they are recommending for the post.

The list is led by Court of Appeals (CA) Justices Japar Dimaampao and Amy Lazaro-Javier, who each received 10 votes.

The others are Court Administrator Jose Midas Marquez who got 9 votes; Sandiganbayan Presiding Justice Amparo Cabotaje-Tang, 8 votes; and CA Justices Justice Ricardo Rosario, 9 votes, Edgardo Delos Santos, 8 votes, Mario Lopez, 8 votes, Ramon Garcia, 7 votes, and Apolinario Bruselas, 7 votes.

The seat was vacated after President Rodrigo Duterte appointed last November 26 Bersamin as chief justice.

Meanwhile, the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) has yet to select who among the 20 candidates will be placed in the shortlist which will be submitted to Malacanang for selection.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy