The bible of Philippine politics

Then there were 14: Find out who’s vying for SC seat to be vacated by Jose Reyes Jr

0 102

Court Administrator Jose Midas Marquez and 12 other candidates are currently vying for a post at the Supreme Court (SC) that will be opened upon the retirement of Justice Jose Reyes Jr.

With this, the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) announced that the public “ may submit a sworn complaint, report, or opposition against any of the aforesaid candidates by electronic mail…”

Aside from Marquez, these candidates include Court of Appeals (CA) Justices Apolinario Bruselas Jr., Nina Antonio-Valenzuela, Ramon Cruz, Japar Dimaampao, Jhosep Lopez, Eduardo Peralta Jr., Ricardo Rosario, Maria Filomena Singh, and Edwin Sorongon; and Sandiganbayan Justices Amparo Cabotaje-Tang, Sandiganbayan Oscar Herrera Jr., and Alex Quiroz.

Among the 14 candidates, Bruselas and Quiros will undergo an online interview before the JBC this August 11.

Reyes is set to compulsorily retire on his 70th birthday this September 18.

He has been a magistrate of the CA since 2003 before being selected by President Rodrigo Duterte as SC magistrate on August 9, 2018.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy