The bible of Philippine politics

Then there were 3: Find out who’s on JBC’s shortlist for next Chief Justice

0 64

Three out of four Supreme Court (SC) justices have made it to the shortlist of candidates vying for the post as chief justice.

The Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) on Tuesday (Oct. 15) released its shortlist which it will submit to Malacanang for President Rodrigo Duterte to make his pick.

Those who landed in the shortlist are Justice Diosdado Peralta with 7 votes; Justice Estala Perlas-Bernabe, 7 votes; and Andres Reyes Jr, 4 votes.

Only Justice Jose Reyes Jr. got excluded from the shortlist.

The one who will be picked by Duterte will replace Chief Justice Lucas Bersamin, the chairman of the JBC, who will compulsorily retire this October 1 at the age of 70.

Bersamin, who is the son of late former Abra governor Luis Bersamin Sr., has been appointed chief justice by Duterte on Nov. 28, 2018.

Prior his appointment, he has been serving as Supreme Court (SC) justice since his appointment on March 10, 2003 by then President Gloria Macapasgal-Arroyo.

He also served as Quezon City regional trial court judge and Court of Appeals (CA) justice.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy